Bike Taupo Advocacy Group Inc.

MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING held on Tuesday 26th February 2014

at BNZ premises, Tongariro Street, Taupo

Present:

Jason Sheriff, Grant Hill, Julie Norris, Lynette Braithwaite, Pete Masters, Jo Donaldson, Crunchie Donaldson, Pete McFarlane, Mike Keys, Phil Battersby, Thea DePris, Clyff Harrington, Rowan Sapsford, Barry Kerr, Chas Hutton, Karyn Hutton, Emma Hutton, Anna McKnight, Nina Manning, Len Malcolm, Susan Watson, Graham Level, Maggie Sando, Sandy Turner, Vanessa Freeman, David Cook, Paul Wilson, Steve Currie.

Apologies:

Pete Manning, Mark Gibson, Peter Goodman, Dennis Handcock, Nicki Hughes, Rose Blakely, Richard Balm, Keith Crate, Jane Maxwell, Angie and Garth London, Mark Davies, Terry Slee

Minutes of Previous AGM:

The Minutes of the previous AGM (held on 30/11/2012) were adopted.

Chairperson's Report:

Rowan Sapsford presented a comprehensive report on the year's activities. This covered:

- The rebuild of Crater's MTB park after the storm damage in 2012.
- Construction of the Great Lake Trail.
- Our role as 'Head Concessionaire' of the GLT.
- Our new Website and Facebook page
- Road/cycling safety and the establishment of the Road Users Group
- Funding issues and recent grants from the Lion Foundation (for re-building Hot Water Bridge) and the Southern Trust for constructing the new 'Steam Field' tracks.
- The Introduction of subs for members.
- Our Bike Taupo Partners' Programme

Rowan then summarised the important matters coming up for Bike Taupo in the next year. These include:

- The opening of the Great Lake Trail
- A focus on urban cycle safety

- The establishment of a Bike Marketing Group
- New track construction
- A review of the Membership changes.
- Input into Council Planning.

Treasurer's Report:

Jo Connell from Strettons (our Accountants) presented the Treasurer's Report and Financial Statements for the year ended 30/9/2013. This Report was adopted by the Meeting.

Election of Executive Committee Members:

One-half of the Executive Committee is required to retire each year. Mike Langley, Thea De Petris, Nicki Hughes and Mark Gibson retired this year.

Mark Gibson offered himself for re-election and nominations were also received for Pam Anderson and Sandy Turner.

All three were unanimously approved and accordingly the Executive Committee for 2014/15 year will be:

Rowan Sapsford (Chair), Ian Jensen, Julie Norris, Mark Gibson, Mike Keys, Karyn Hutton, Pamela Anderson and Sandy Turner.

General Business:

- Pete Masters reported on progress with building the Great Lake Trail; the maintenance of our whole track system and the planned construction of new tracks.
- Cath Oldfield reported on the very successful year's activities for Kids Bike Taupo.
- 3) Rowan Sapsford reported on the recent introduction of subscriptions for members. He explained the reasons for this move and updated the meeting on progress with the rollout and receipt of subscriptions. The move has generally been well received and understood. The Executive Committee will undertake a review of the new Membership programme later in the year.
- 4) There was some discussion re conflicts in the Craters MTB Park between riders and walkers. It was accepted that the riders have priority and if conflicts continue the use of these tracks by walkers and runners may have to be reviewed.
- 5) There was a brief discussion re the need for users (including cyclists) to be better educated re road riding and for better road signage re cyclists.

The Meeting closed at 7pm